US video streaming company Netflix has decided to crack down on password sharing, after which if some users’ accounts are used by someone else, they (owners) will be charged extra for streaming.
YES, now the owners sharing the password with someone else, out of their home, will be charged extra for sharing.
The company says the new fee option will come in the next few weeks and will apply to people who are sharing an account outside their home.
“Our Standard and Premium members will be able to add sub-accounts to two people they do not live with, each with their own profile, login and password available at a lower cost,” Netflix said in a statement.via Netflix Announcement Blogpost
The test is currently limited to Netflix users in Chile, Costa Rica, and Peru.
Changi Long, Netflix’s director of innovation, discusses the issue of sharing in a blog post.
“Although they have been very popular, they have also created some confusion about when and how Netflix can be shared,” he said.
This is affecting our ability to invest in great new TV and movies for our members. As a result, accounts are only being shared between family members.”
During the test, customers can add additional customers by paying 2380 CLP (2. 2.99) in Chile, US 2. 2.99 in Costa Rica, and 7.9 PEN (2. 2.11) in Peru.
This is not the first time Netflix has tried to stop password sharing. In March 2021, the company forced some users to verify that the account they were using belonged to them.